Slideshow image

Some people have asked - a few in a sharp and harsh way - why the Sorrento Centre, a non-profit retreat and conference centre in the beautiful Shuswap region of British Columbia that is proud of its roots in the Anglican tradition, is welcoming our friend Imam Monawar Hussain for an on-line conversation about Islam. We take seriously the call for a world-wide interfaith dialogue expressed so wonderfully by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.:

“We have inherited a large house, a great ‘world house’ in which we have to live together… a family unduly separated in ideas, culture and interest who, because we can never again live apart, must learn somehow to live with each other in peace. . . The large house in which we live demands that we transform this world-wide neighborhood into a world-wide brotherhood."

** Click here to join free, on-line conversation Imam Monawar **

** Wednesday, Feb. 17, 12 noon Pacific // 3 pm Eastern // 6 pm GMT **

Some other opportunities for our many friends:

Starting Feb. 22, join Leonard Desroches for five weeks with Francis of Assisi every Monday evening at 6 pm Pacific (9 pm Eastern). Week three will include Francis's encounter with the Muslim ruler of Egypt, the Sultan Malik al Kamil - an amazing interfaith encounter. Week four will be a deep dive into Francis's powerful affirmation of Jesus's call to love our enemies.

** Click here for info + on-line registration for Sister Water and the Sultan **

A special on-line event on Feb. 28 with Dr. Vibeke Vaerum: navigating uncertain times by changing your mind will draw on Zen Buddhist practices for a relaxing, centring exercise, talk and Q & A.

** Click here for info + on-line registration for Navigating Uncertain Times **